Drinking & Thinking

IMG_0292
Alamos Seleccion Malbec 2012

Malbec is a personal favorite varietal of mine. Mainly because it combines characteristics from my second favorite varietal: Pinot Noir, and third favorite Merlot. I love the fruit forwardness of it followed by some spice and Tannins at the end.

When I first had Alamos Malbec I must say that I was a little disappointed as I had heard that it was the best selling Malbec in the US. I found it a bit pedestrian. Not surprising once you think about it.

For a few dollars more you can have their Seleccion offering and have a far better wine. Still keeping it around twenty bucks.

-Color: Dark, Dark, Red. Almost black you can barely see through it. Legs are ok.

-Nose: Blackberry maybe some plum and you can smell the oak.

-Flavor: All Kinds of fruit upfront. Blackberries, dark cherries, currants, it really hits all the notes you want Malbec to hit. Maybe still a bit muted but the oak at the end provides the pepper one craves in a Malbec.

-Rating: 3.5/5 – Much better than the standard offering coming from Alamos. The Seleccion is a wine that I wouldn’t mind as an accompaniment to a nice meal and I certainly wouldn’t hesitate to show up with it at a dinner party.

-Cheers!

Leave a Reply

