Drinking & Thinking

Dogfish Head's Punkin Ale
Dogfish Head’s Punkin Ale 

Ok, it’s October people. You are now allowed to drink and eat all things pumpkin. Just as X-mas decorations and all things associated with the holiday seem to start showing up earlier and earlier in the year. (I saw decorations for sale in late September) So too are pumpkin flavored beverages and foodstuffs showing up earlier and earlier in the season.

Follow me on Instagram: ntalexan
Follow me on Instagram: ntalexan

This year my store received our first round of pumpkin beer the first week of September. Granted it was from a large producer no doubt trying to capitalize on the “pumpkin spice” craze.

I must admit that pumpkin beers are not my favorite seasonal style. I would much rather have a nice fresh hop beer or even a refreshing Oktoberfest beer which are both available during this time of year. My main beef with these style of beers is that most of them end up being too sweet. More of a novelty beverage than a serious beer.  Thus why I wanted to choose a pumpkin offering from a brewery that I trust with my palate for any weird creation, and went with Dogfish Head’s Punkin Ale.

You can’t call yourself a serious craft beer enthusiast if you’ve never had a beer from this Delaware based brewery. They have been a leader in the field for years now mainly due to their flagship 60 and 90 minute IPAs which are two go to beers of mine. They also try some outrageous concoctions. Whether it’s making beer inspired by musical artists like Miles Davis (Bitches Brew) or The Grateful Dead (American Beauty) or even resurrecting ancient brewing techniques, (Midas Touch, Chateau Jiahu) they are constantly pushing the boundaries of craft brewing. (If you would like to learn more about the brewery I highly suggest watching the short-lived television show Brew Masters) Their willingness to experiment and their success at doing so are just two reasons I trusted them when choosing them for my annual pumpkin beer foray.  

-Color: Decent Carbonation, medium dark amber

-Nose: You get the pumpkin on the nose. Kind of smells like a gingerbread cookie, even a bit of the nutmeg. You can envision a liquid pumpkin pie getting ready to pass between your lips.

-Flavor: Full of pumpkin flavor. Baking spices, cinnamon, gingerbread cookies, and even get the sugar. Silky smooth mouth feel and you get a bit of the malt on the back end.

-Rating: 2.75/5- It’s a great pumpkin beer but would I say it’s a great beer? No. If I had to buy another pumpkin beer… I would buy this one. Simply because I love this brewery and will support just about everything Sam and the guys are doing there.

-Cheers!

Leave a Reply

