Drinking & Thinking

Chateau Ste. Michelle ’13 Dry Riesling 

Riesling is a very good competitor when I think about my favorite white varietals. I guess being a primarily red drinker that could be confusing as most rieslings are super sweet. But maybe that’s why I do enjoy riesling as my white of choice. A complete departure from what I usually drink on a day to day basis. Probably why I usually prefer to drink champagne or another sparkling if I do choose to drink a white at all.

For today’s post I decided to choose a wine from a goliath in the industry, Chateau Ste. Michelle. You can find their wines all across the country. They are kind of like the Anheuser of the wine industry here in Washington. Say what you will about them, they produce decent wine at a decent price, and are very consistent about doing so.

I also chose their Dry Riesling today. Just a slight departure from the kind of riesling that I usually prefer. Another thing that intrigued me when I picked up the bottle was that it was claiming to be from from 100% Vinifera Rootstock. Most wines are Vinifera grafted upon Labrusca rootstock due to the Phylloxera outbreak of the late 19th century. My guess is that this is able to be completely Vinifera because it is grown far enough north in the Columbia Valley where the moth was unable to thrive and ruin crops.

-Color: Light amber and it’s actually a bit cloudy. Little to no tears running down the side of my glass.

-Nose: A bit astringent on the first wiff. Unripe green fruit and fresh cut grass.

-Flavor: Medium to high acidity. Granny Smith apples, really makes the mouth water and want another sip. A bit of citrus and almost a metallic taste. I feel like the acid is pretty high but that might be just the style of riesling we have here as I am a newbie to dry rieslings.

-Rating: 2/5: The acidity is just too high for me and like I said that might be due to the fact that I am somewhat inexperienced in the dry riesling category. I’m more of a fan of the sweeter rieslings that I’ve had. I would not be terribly upset if I had to drink this wine again. It would go great with ceviche or even sushi.

-Cheers!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Gonna have to give his a try! I’m a red man myself. Thanks for the notes buddy!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Most WA wines have the privilege of being on vinifera rootstock because Phylloxera hasn’t made it into the region due to the Cascade Mountains (similar to the Andes protecting Chile from the pest) as well as the type of soil that Phylloxera just cannot survive in.

    Like

  3. BTW – previous comment comes as I am a HUGE lover of all things WA Wine related!

    Like

Leave a Reply

