Drinking & Thinking

            Januik Winery’s 2013 Merlot

In my early days of wine appreciation I had a particular affinity towards Merlot. Boxed merlot in fact. In those more meager times in my life it was a custom to rid the Merlot (Pronounced Mur Lot in those days by my good friend Dchan) of its cardboard restraints and “slap the bag.” We chose Merlot due to it having the highest ABV, something very important when you are looking for a bang for your buck buzz.

Thankfully those days are behind me. I am not saying that I’m opposed to the occasional slapping of the bag, (boxed wine has actually came a long way but that is a discussion for another time) but my tastes have improved.

Today I am staying local and had a few glasses of Januik Winery’s 2013 Merlot

-Color: Deep purple. No visibility through this guy. Slow tears are falling down the sides of my glass.

-Nose: Strong black cherries, Dark chocolate, a slight metallic notes kind of like the smell of copper.

-Flavor: Kind of flat on the fruit flavor up front. Mid palate you get dark chocolate mousse and dark cherries. Finishing with rich earthy and metallic notes that go well with the grip that you get with Merlot and this wine has some serious grip.

-Rating 2.5/5: For sure better than the days of slapping the bag. I did like the earthy notes, but the amount of grip this thing has on the backend kind took away from the flavor of the whole experience and left me kind of disappointed.  

-Cheers!     

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Nice review Todd. Enjoyed the honesty and simplicity of it. I’d suggest to mention the wine’s origin in a piece like this, or even the tittle. Had to look at the label to see it’s a Columbia Valley 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks for the feedback!

      Like

Leave a Reply

