Drinking & Thinking

Even in the season of the dark beer, it’s nice to stop have a nice refreshing IPA. They might not be the freshest going round right now but you need refreshment goddammit! In my last post I mentioned that anytime is a good time for bubbly. Well, anytime is a good time for an IPA.

Another recurring theme from the last post is affordability. There is something to be said about a “Good” beverage a democratic price. Especially after the holiday season it was nice to find a twenty two ouncer for $5.99!!!!

So for today’s post we will see if Black Raven Brewing Company’s IPA is truly a hidden gem in the bargain section.

-Color: Deep amber but very clear with great carbonation. It has a great head on its shoulders.

-Nose: Piney. It also has a wet dog aroma to it, but in a good way.

-Flavor: Lingering pine notes with a solid malt backbone, that has a bit of caramel flavor to it. The label claims that it’s a balanced IPA, and I wouldn’t disagree with that description. It finishes smooth. Maybe too smooth and that is one fault I find with it. It leaves me wanting more. However, it is very drinkable and at 6.9% a very dangerous one to have a couple of.  

-Rating: 3.25/5: A better than average IPA. I would be lying if I didn’t tell you it reminded me of a beer from Indiana that I have a strong affection for. Thr3e Wise Men Brewing Company’s Double IPA. The malt characteristics are very similar. That being said I would definitely buy this beer again. Great flavor for the price.

-Cheers!

Leave a Reply

