Joseph Drouhin Pouilly-Fuisse

As I’ve mentioned in previous posts. Whites and in particular Chardonnay’s are not my personal favorite wines to drink. I just find a lot of them flat and there aren’t too many that are of good quality at a reasonable price.

However, on occasion I do get a craving for a Chardonnay and when I do I usually reach for a French Chard. I find them much more refreshing than their new world counterparts.

For today’s post I chose Joseph Drouhin’s 2014 Pouilly-Fuisse. A winery from Burgundy that has yet to let me down. (They make killer Pinot Noir)   

-Appearance: Very Clear and bright. Gold with a bit of green tint. No legs to speak of.

-Nose: Cream, light butterscotch, some lemon, a bit of butter, and some minerality on the nose reminiscent of fresh rain.

-Flavor: Creamy with a bit of oak. Not in your face like some new world Chards but it is still there. A touch of saltiness on the front palate with bright lemony citrus and floral notes. Medium to medium minus acidity. A medium bodied Chardonnay all around which hits the point on refreshment and something I look for in this particular style.     

-Rating 2.75/5: It’s an ok offering from Drouhin. Nothing mind-blowing. I do think I like their Macon-Villages a bit more than this guy. It does have some oak and that’s not necessarily something that I’m looking fro from this varietal. If you are trying to find a compromise between a big oaky/buttery Chard and a stainless steel offering this would be a wine to pick up.

-Cheers!

Leave a Reply

