Day 1: 3 Magnets Little Juice IPA Smoothie Edition

For day numero uno of my month long sojourn through the world of beer I am Drinking 3 Magnets Little Juice IPA. 3 Magnets is based out of Seattle’s neighbor to the south Olympia. I have been continually excited to try offerings from this local brewery, and I must say that they are currently a favorite of mine. Every IPA that I have had from them has been fresh and delicious and I even enjoyed one of their Pilsners, even though that particular style tends to be a miss for me.

With all that being said I’m a little skeptical about this new trend of unfiltered IPAs. Unfiltered beers aren’t new. Since moving to Seattle Manny’s Pale Ale has been a pretty standard purchase of mine and it’s unfiltered. So lets give one a try and see if its more than giving just giving beer nerds a pretty picture of a beer.

-Appearance: Hardly any head after the pour.  Very thick looking with sediment abound. Since it’s unfiltered… I’m not really surprised or impressed by this new trend.

-Nose: Smells like POG. You especially get the passion fruit and orange in the aroma. A little bit of grapefruit as well.  Definite citrus bomb.

-Palate: A  lot more bitter than I was expecting. Thought I would get more fruit flavors given the nose and maybe even get some sweetness from the malt.

-Rating: 2.75/5: I’m a little bit disappointed in this offering. The regular filtered Little Juice is great. I’m not sure the sediment adds much. Moral of the story: If it ain’t broke don’t fix it.

-Cheers!

This post is part of a series of posts in the 30 Beers in 30 Days project. Enjoy! 

This post is part of a series of posts in the 30 Beers in 30 Days project. Enjoy! This post is part of a series of posts in the 30 Beers in 30 Days project. Enjoy! 

Leave a Reply

