Day 4: De Garde Saison Facile

-Appearance: Hazy with a bit of sediment on the bottom of the glass. No head to speak of and I’m a bit surprised by that as I thought this brew would still be alive.

-Nose: Funky. Got that wild yeasty, Belgiany nose. I get the strong hint of canned peaches. Which is interesting as I don’t think that peaches were involved in the brewing process. No oak on the nose.

-Palate: It even tastes like peaches! You do get the butter and flavor of oak on the palate. I like the oak notes a little better than the peach notes. As the peaches remind me of canned peaches and not fresh ones. A bit of bitterness upfront but it fades on the mid to back palate.

-Rating: 2.5/5: The flavor fades too quickly and the refreshing effervescence that you would expect out of a saison isn’t there for me. I expected more. I dig the funk and the oak but the canned peach notes that I’ve belabored about in this review is just off-putting.

De Garde is a cult favorite amongst beer nerds. I myself am not sold as to their cult status. I have had two of their brews now, and one was pretty good, but this one is just lacking. I do appreciate what they are trying to do with the aging process. I get nerdy when thinking and talking about farmhouse as a style. Lets just say I haven’t given up on them yet.

-Cheers!

This post is part of a series of posts in the 30 Beers in 30 Days project. Enjoy! 

This post is part of a series of posts in the 30 Beers in 30 Days project. Enjoy! 

Leave a Reply

