Day 5: Rodenbach Caractere Rouge 2013

For my first “World Beer” of 30 Beers in 30 Days I’m going Belgian. I must admit that as popular and world renowned as Rodenbach is in the sour category I have never tried one of their beers. I missed my perfect opportunity for a namesake brew review with the Rodenbach Alexander. So when starting this project I jumped on the opportunity to grab the next limited edition offering from this legendary brewery.

-Appearance: Nice fizzy head that sticks around. A nice burgundy red color to it. So dark it looks like a later vintage wine.

-Nose: Cherries straight away, a bit of vinegar. Almost smells like a grape soda. I might be a little off but I get notes of sweet milk chocolate as well.

-Palate: Drinks like a soda. I could pound this bad boy in the summer. Really you wouldn’t know it’s a sour until the back end and the cranberries bring the tartness. Tastes like a Pinot Noir grape soda. A Burgundian one for that matter, not quite earthy enough for Oregon.

-Rating: 3.75/5: This is one of the best sours I’ve ever had. Perhaps because it tastes like a soda. A soda I could drink all day every day!

-Cheers!

This post is part of a series of posts in the 30 Beers in 30 Days project. Enjoy! 

Leave a Reply

